Some May Ask Why Christmas?

Some Christians may ask, “Why should we celebrate Christmas when it has become a secular party extravaganza? Easter, yes, He instructed us to remember His death, burial and resurrection.  But why Christmas?”

At the Christmas season we remember the birth of the Savior. Not because He commands it as with the Bread and the Cup, but because without the birth there would be no death and resurrection. It’s a reminder that through His birth, death and resurrection re-birth is possible for us. Jesus said, “I tell you the truth, no one can see the kingdom of God unless he is born again.” Jn. 3:4    His incarnation provides the way to this spiritual rebirth.

Our remembering  the Saviors birth is to honor the beginning of the hope and the glory it brings, leading to the fulfillment at the cross through His death, burial and resurrection.

Remembering and realizing that the tiny infant laying in this manger is none other than Almighty God, Himself, come to save the sick and the lost from eternal banishment from His presence, is awe-inspiring in and of itself.

When we think of being saved from death by a strong, miracle-wielding God-man, fully grown, yes; but a tiny newborn lying in a manger looking so helpless? Could there be a greater reason for celebration of a new birth in all the earth?

The truth of the incarnation of Almighty God taking the full journey of human conception, to knitting Himself together in the womb, to full-term birth as an infant; growing through childhood, adolescence and adulthood as a man is awesomely mind boggling.

And this just to have personal relationship with sinful persons like you and me, Christian. I don’t know about you, but I will be trying to wrap my mind around that through all eternity. And because of it I will be praising Him throughout eternity, as well!

No, we don’t celebrate Christmas because He commands it. We celebrate Christmas to further honor the Savior as sojourners in this world while on our way home.

-GW

Lord, I lift Your name on high
Lord, I love to sing Your praises

I’m so glad You’re in my life

I’m so glad You came to save us

You came from heaven to earth

To show the way


From the earth to the cross

My debt to pay

From the cross to the grave

From the grave to the sky
Lord, I lift Your name on high