Keep Going

Records of Keeping

“This is the disciple(John)who testifies to these things and who wrote then down. We know that his testimony is true.

Jesus did many other things as well. If every one of them were written down, I suppose that even the whole world would not have room for the books that would be written.” (John 21”24-25)NIV

In the short three years Jesus walked the earth in ministry, his works of signs and wonders and miraculous healings were too many to record by writing down… Add to those the many souls he saved just by telling them their faith had healed/saved them. They became part of his record also, not written down in books but living testimonies of his miraculous acts of mercy. They were living epistles of Christ. His acts were written on their hearts of flesh rather than tablets of stone. Their lives became their reflection of his goodness and their tongues of witness were his sent teachers.

“You yourselves are our (epistles), written on our hearts, known and read by everybody. You show that you are an epistle from Christ, the result of our ministry, written not with ink, but with the Spirit of the living God, not on tablets of stone but on tablets of human hearts.” 2Corinthians 3:2-3 NIV

Today you and I are those living epistles of Christ, if indeed our full faith is growing in the grace and knowledge of Jesus Christ.( “But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be glory both now and forever! Amen.”) 2Peter 3:18 NIV

The miracle of conversion within each of us with a changed heart is a true and everlasting record of Christ’s continuing works of signs, wonders and healings in a world becoming increasingly more mad and dysfunctional. As a living epistle what message is being conveyed by me to this world.

******

I think about this every day and every time anger, self-centeredness, pride or any other human foible incites my flesh and wants to react to any perceived slight to my humanistic pride. And so the battle goes. Knowing the enemy is in-a-me is a large part of victory.

Q: “Lord, I was young and now I’m old. How long am I going to have to keeping fighting this old adversary?”

His answer: “Keep going, GW, I’ll let you know when. My grace is sufficient for you.”

AMEN! His grace has always been more than sufficient!

-GW

One thought on “Keep Going”

Comments are closed.