Even The Least of These

Triumphal Entry

‘The next day the great crowd that had come for the Feast heard that Jesus was on his way to Jerusalem. They took palm branches and went to meet him, shouting:

“Hosanna!”

“Blessed is the King of Israel!”

Jesus found a young donkey and sat upon it,

as it is written:

“Do not be afraid, O Daughter of Zion;

see, Your king is coming,

seated on a donkey’s colt.” (John 12: 12-15)NIV

***

Look at that crowd – their overwhelming joy! What a procession of victory! The King of Glory is about to enter the city!

Now look toward the back of the procession – further back. Way back – way, way back. See that little speck? No, not that one. That smaller speck further back. The one that’s almost indecipherable to the eye – that’s me following Jesus. Now see that lighter speck next to me? That’s Jesus walking beside me.

How can Jesus be at the front of the procession and at the back at the same time?

You may well ask.

I’ll tell you.

I don’t know!

But not only is He beside me and in front of me, He’s behind me also. If He wasn’t I would have become distracted by any number of shiny objects and wandered off.

Another question.

How is Jesus walking ahead of me, beside me, and behind, while He’s doing the same with you, and at the same time?

I’ll tell you.

I don’t know.

But He is!

Palm Sunday blessings!

-GW

One thought on “Even The Least of These”

Comments are closed.