What is ‘Joy’?

How do we define ‘Joy’? What does ‘Joy in the Lord’ mean? Is it a feeling? Is it a place or position?

This is a fairly good study of the meaning of biblical Joy…

I mean joy as the apostle Paul uses it in his letters, and particularly in the book of Philippians. I am not just asking about the meaning of joy in general. I am talking about Christian joy, as Paul the apostle describes it. So let me give you my definition, and then take it apart one piece at a time…How Do You Define Joy? | Desiring God.

2 thoughts on “What is ‘Joy’?”

  1. Well, you know I’m pretty big on the subject of joy.:0)It is one of the spiritual fruits produced by the Holy Spirit in the heart and life of believers. I would say however, it is more than human emotion because joy is lasting and human emotions are fleeting. Joy nonbelievers experience is temporary and vanishes when trouble comes. Christian joy gives the believer buoyancy in the storms of life, we may not feel it so intensely at times but it never leaves us. I believe it is the spiritual fruit that produces a right attitude toward life. It is opposed to what I would term ‘gaiety’ (big word in the world today) which signifies moral abandon. There is no joy apart from obedience. Grieving the Holy Spirit is the way to destroy joy.

    I en’joy’ed this very much gw.:0)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You put it very well, Pam. Yes, joy , at least in part, is the assuredness of His salvation and His abiding presence no matter our passing situation. When I was a new Christian I at times became concerned because I didn’t “feel it” at times. But when I turned it around and saw it as God’s joy in our reconcilliation with Him I understood it better, and realized it wasn’t always a feeling but a fact. 🙂 Many Blessings!

      “Do not sorrow, for the joy of the LORD is your strength.” Neh 8:10

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.