Silence

Silence

I just had a thought while remembering again that Israel experienced four hundred years of silence before the coming of Christ, the God-Man, the promised Messiah. Four hundred years of not hearing a prophet speak for God. Four hundred long years of God just letting them simmer in silence.

It was nearly as lengthy as their time in Egypt as slaves, before He sent Moses as His emissary of emancipation to free them from bondage, which was also a type for Christ. But that connection isn’t my point.

What strikes me is that there has been no silence from Almighty God for the past two thousand years since He freed us from the bondage of sin. His church, world-wide has been proclaiming the Glory of the Lord’s presence from the day He left us with that commission. His Holy Spirit has been moving to and fro around the world quietly speaking to hearts, preparing the way of the LORD. He hides His message in plain sight for all to see – and some to ignore – and still others to deny. But He has not been silent. Therefore, none has excuse. (Romans 1:19-21)

The aforementioned four hundred years of silence was broken by the most miraculous, heaven-and-earth shaking occurrence ever performed by Almighty God, through the Incarnation. He came to His creation on earth and walked among us for a while, in the similitude of a man, experiencing first-hand what we experience as one of His creatures.

I think of times in my personal life about periods of His seeming silent. I have come to learn that His silences have power behind them. The power of preparation, deliverance, planning and a whole litany of His attributes soon to be made manifest. I now think in terms of His being busy out of sight preparing the results, rather than secretive, His silence is communicating to me to trust and be patient. And then the only type of question that comes to mind is something like: What miracle is He preparing? And when will He reveal it? Because every blessing he bestows to me I count a miracle, as I certainly didn’t do anything to deserve it.

I must say that over the years I have learned His great faithfulness, and my trust in Him has grown the strongest, through these stages of His silence. My grinding frustrations and seething fretfulness in those times have invariably ended with a once-again  conspicuous demonstration of  His abiding love and unchanging goodness. And that always left me very humbled before Him, hanging my head in shame, asking His forgiveness for my impatient tirade towards His refusal to act according to my time schedule. The significance of “trust and obey” was driven deeper, each time, into my heart. In spite of our intimate knowledge of God, there is always room for that intimacy to grow. Along with pain, His silences provide fertile opportunity to that chief end. For our chief end truly is to know God. Above all other desires He is the desire of the ages. Far above all lesser things that may snare our fleeting, and temporary, attentions.

In quiet and trust is your strength Isaiah 30:15

The Amazing Grace of Almighty God, in Christ!

-g.w

5 thoughts on “Silence”

Comments are closed.