Freefall

The Hole:

A tipsy man was walking down a deserted city street late one night, and not noticing an open manhole in the center of the sidewalk fell straight down ten feet. Getting to his feet after crumpling to the bottom, he searched around and found there was no ladder in the round, vertical walls to aid him climbing out. He was stuck. After a few hours in the hole, and becoming desperate, he heard the sound of footsteps approaching the opening above. He began yelling at the top of his voice, “Help! Help! Help!” A voice above from a head looking down says, “What’s wrong?”

The man in the hole says,” I was walking down the street and I fell in this hole, there’s no way out, can you help me?” The man above – a psychiatrist – says “sure.” He writes out a prescription, throws it down into the hole then walks on.

A short time later he again hears footsteps approaching on the sidewalk above. “Help! Help! Help!” he again yells. A head appears to look down into the hole, a man says, “What’s the problem?”

The man below says, “I was walking down the sidewalk and fell into this hole and there’s no way out. Can you help me?” The man above – a priest – says “Sure.” He writes out a prayer, throws it down the hole and walks on.

Still in the hole, he again hears footsteps approaching. “Help! Help! Please help me!” A head appears in the opening above and a voice says, “What are you doing down there?” The man below tells him his story and asks, “Can you help me?”

The man above says “Sure.” And immediately jumped down into the hole with him. The man from below says, “Are you crazy? Now we’re both down in this hole and neither of us can get out!”

The man from above says, “Oh, don’t worry about it. I’ve been down here before. I know the way out. Follow me.”

 ****

Thank you Lord Jesus, for jumping into the hole with me and showing me the way out of my addiction. And thank you for making me a guardian of the hole to show others the way out and the way to You. All praise, honor and glory to my Savior!

And a tribute to all who were serious enough about changing their lives to listen and follow, and are now following the Savior –  showing others the way out.

-g.w

There were those who dwelt in darkness and in the shadow of death, Prisoners in misery and chains, Because they had rebelled against the words of God And spurned the counsel of the Most High. Therefore He humbled their heart with labor; They stumbled and there was none to help.
Then they cried out to the LORD in their trouble; He saved them out of their distresses. He brought them out of darkness and the shadow of death And broke their bands apart. -Psalm 107:10-14