Under an Azure Sky

Some experiences are difficult to describe. When such an episode is deeply personal, it’s almost impossible. It defies metaphor, allegory, simile, as well as narrative.

Azure Sky

The denial of perdition

Is a noose around

The neck of a soul

Wandering aimlessly

Through the heart

Of umbra darkness.

 

Howbeit I did escape?

I was there, then not.

Swimming in inky murk,

Asudden clear blue water

Under bright azure sky.

 

Someone called my name

But not by my name

Yet it was me He was calling.

I responded to the voice familiar,

Calling to me an unfamiliar name.

 

How did I get where I found myself,

Not found by me in the least, but lost.

Who is the stranger that called to me,

By a strange name familiar to me?

Then I found myself swimming carefree

In a bright blue sea under an azure sky.

 

 

He could have passed me by and let me rightfully sink in that swamp. But He didn’t!

Being that the Savior saves. That’s what He does. Not just once, but every day He keeps on saving.

 

~G.W.

Nations will see your vindication, and all kings your splendor. You will be called by a new name that the LORD himself will give you. Isaiah 62:2

Whoever has ears, let them hear what the Spirit says to the churches. To the one who is victorious, I will give some of the hidden manna. I will also give that person a white stone with a new name written on it, known only to the one who receives it. [Apparently they/we will have a very personal relationship with the Savior throughout eternity.] Revelation 2:17

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Under an Azure Sky”

  1. I can honestly say I’ve never read a poem where I found my own testimony written between the lines. My eyes teared with the gratitude at the closing words “He could have passed me by and let me rightfully sink in that swamp. But He didn’t!” Found the lyrics to a Sunday school song of years gone by tumbling through my head when I finished reading- “God is so good, God is so good, God is so good, He’s so good to me.”

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, Beth. Your comment means more to me than I can put into words.
      I remember that children’s song. I still sing it!
      The Lord’s richest blessings to you!

      Liked by 2 people

Notes: