The Salvage Man Cometh

Dedicated to all who met the Salvage Man and has learned from Him.

He sees, what is to Him, a familiar toe sticking out from under a pile of refuse. Gently taking hold, He adeptly begins to pull, sliding the entire person out, and deftly carries this one away from the crowd. Thus begins His project of reclaiming and refashioning this person into an instrument fit for the King’s Orchestra of Life.

This video displays how an instrument, made from junk, can sound in the hands of the Maestro. (Please view video from beginning for full-effect story. Seems it was pre-set to begin late into video.)

Can I tell you a little story? Okay, I will speak.

One day many, many years ago (give or take), God, the Almighty God Who had been stalking me, yes, the good kind and gentle, most powerful One. This God pulled me from the fire once again. This time I was sure I was gone when He snatched me from harm’s way suddenly enough both my eyes went into one socket for a second.


I was so thankful and relieved I began walking in a tight circle, talking very fast, thanking Him. I kept talking to Him as though He were there with me (of course He was).


I told Him I couldn’t take from His goodness any longer and simply walk away again. This time I wanted to give something in return to honor and to thank Him. But what could I give? I had nothing worthy of Him.


At that moment, the thought came into my mind, “your life.” Huh? No, no, that is the least worthy thing I possess. I have made a complete junkyard of my life. Why would you want such junk? “your life.” But why? “your life.”  Have you ever argued with God? Did you ever win? Aren’t you glad?


Now a visual thought in my mind’s eye I saw a man going into a large auto scrap yard. It was filled with wrecked heaps of all kinds. He began taking different parts from different wrecks, inspecting them closely, and loading them onto a truck. He was going to use those parts to reclaim others that can be restored.


Then it hit me. “You are that salvager, aren’t You!” “You are going to reclaim my life!”

My next thought, “The Salvage Man cometh, I’m going to be salvaged. Salvation!”


I fell to my knees in humble fearfulness of what may come and said, “You want my life, Lord. I give my life to You. From this moment forward, it belongs to You. I need You to teach me what this means. I surrender everything into Your hands.”

The Junkman cometh. I am redeemed. I have been saved from rust, dust, deterioration, the fire, and myself. I thank Almighty God through Christ Jesus, my Savior, every day and counting.

I left out much detail. I will use those pieces to help others marked along the highway of restoration.

Praise the Lord, O my soul!

 I will praise the Lord as long as I live;

    I will sing praises to my God while I have my being.

Psalm 146:1,2

Salvation is of the Lord

Ineffable Power

17 thoughts on “The Salvage Man Cometh”

  1. Beautifully written GW. By writing your testimony with clarity and yet without too much detail you have invited me to look at my own life and see how the Master Salvager has worked and is working to take the junk from the period of years when I wasn’t walking with Him and turning it into His incredible masterpiece. Very humbling to view the work of our Savior.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Beth. Yes, it is very humbling when I view so much of my junk that the Savior has not discarded but is still remolding in me. And, again, I think of the Potter and the clay, thanking Him every day for never giving up on me. It is His goodness that always leads me to repentance, building trust and love for Him higher and deeper.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes He does get you. He took great care in planning you. He understands you very well. It is His goodness and patience that keeps us attached to Him.
      He gets me too. That can be frightening to some, but it greatly comforts me.
      I like your comment. It’s straight up.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I agree. God talk can overwhelm. And also that we all have experience in relationships of varying types.
          My relationship with God is so far from any other that I can separate it from any experience I have ever known before.
          I have never been misunderstood by Him.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for another wonderful post. The place else may anyone get that type of info in such an ideal manner of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I am on the look for such information.

    Like

  3. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

    Like

    1. No question Almighty God brought you here. Is your name Jonah? No, of course not. I guess I don’t know you, nor how you got here. But you are always welcome if you’re not selling something.

      Like

Notes: