Peace by Practice

[Edited with new content added]


“However, not to give offense to them, go to the sea and cast a hook and take the first fish that comes up, and when you open its mouth, you will find a shekel. Take that and give it to them for yourself and for me.” Matthew 17:27

As a disciple of Christ, will we become as confident of God’s instruction as our Master was while on earth? Will we know that we know we have received God’s instruction without question or doubt, if possible?

Some examples:

  • Be still and wait — and have peace therein.
  • Move-in this direction — with peace while moving, through confidence in the One who whispers
  • This decision is a good one — with peace.
  • When I act on this decision, I will be misunderstood by those around me. And surrounding peace.
  • When I see various occurrences, seemingly unrelated, but discern how they are related and know it’s His providence in action. Having no fear but peace.

The word Trust comes to mind.

When I have come through many trials, toils, and dangers over a long period of differing occurrences, trusting God is built layer by layer. He has displayed His faithfulness in thin but significant layers day by day, hour by hour, minute by minute. And often while we were not paying conscious attention.

Afterward, we remember how everything came together in so many instances, and we recognize it as God’s providential interventions. In those places, as I have written about in a previous article, we lay a Memory Stone. Such a stone represents Trust in God’s faithfulness proven being built within our cognitive faculties. Time – it takes time. It goes against everything natural and human by nature. But each laid stone marks a path that could be missed if gone un noted.

Not that I am there. I’m a distance down the road in age, but I’m writing this to organize some mental observances I learned and jot down here. 

Something that builds more trust depends on how active we are about including God, consciously and daily, in our activities and routines. Not just an acknowledgment that He is there, but more like, “Hello, Lord, can we talk while we walk?” Asking Him questions is a great conversation starter.

When we do that, we find Him to be a great conversationalist. We ask, He answers by an implanted thought so subtle we may mistakenly think our intellectual prowess developed the answer. No, it was revealed by Divine grace. A two-way conversation with the Savior does it. Always? I don’t know. But I know a conversation when I’m involved in a conversation.

You may have noted I haven’t as yet quoted any bible on the subject. How about the Psalms – all of it. Or the number of times in the gospels the Lord left His companions, went off by Himself, and talked with the Father all night long.

Or the times He muttered in the presence of those around Him – “How long shall I put up with these people so dull of understanding!?” He was talking to His Father in heaven, not those closest to him. And that is just a small sampling. There were so many bible persons who spoke to God, from Genesis to Revelation, as they practiced the presence of God in their daily routines, in daily life; not simply the acknowledgement of His presence, the practice also.

Layer by layer, our trust in His steadfast faithfulness grows from grace to grace by onion-skin thin layer upon layer. As this happens, it becomes easier for Him to communicate His personal thoughts to us.

“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go;
I will guide you with My eye.” Psalm 32:8 NKJV

Some dedicated disciples of Christ experience the above as described by sensitivity to the Spirit. However, some very well intentioned readers are as yet unaware it is possible to have a close personal relationship with God. It is to those that I dedicate this (as well as reminder to all in between).

This article originated by a particular experience of memories I had with the Lord last weekend and me “just thinking.” ~G.W.

“But now thus says the Lord, He who created you, O man, He who formed you, O woman: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you. For I am the Lord your God…your Savior.” Isaiah 43:1-3 (this promise does apply to His church body world-wide, as well.) 

 

[Do you know your own personal way to most naturally express yourself in your relationship with God? The way that best fits your temperament designed by the Creator who knew what he was doing when he made you according to his own unique intentions? The above is the way I found best for me. I pray that it may help you, in whatever humble way, find a closer walk with the Savior.]

~~ For a better description of much on this subject, please read sister Jennifer Arimborgo’s blog post on “Peace” at her blog site, “Feeding On Jesus” below. I highly recommend this to the interested reader!

Your Peace Is Going to Get Deeper — Feeding On Jesus


9 thoughts on “Peace by Practice”

  1. I understand that kind of trust and 2 way conversations. My father used to warn about being too mystical and I would warn back about missing God’s voice. One must always hear and discern correctly. Old men dreaming dreams?

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Thank you so much for sharing a link to my post, G.W.! I really enjoyed reading yours, too. He has been emphasizing that to me too, the importance of asking Him questions. I love how you put it, that He is a great conversationalist! Boy is He!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, Jennifer, for the generous affirmation of your comment. I also thank you for permission to link to your original post, which complements so well the things I attempted in this post. Again, thank you!
      May the Lord’s richness of His grace and mercy abide with you and your family as you so faithfully continue in the work you are doing on His behalf, as you have been called!

      Liked by 2 people

Notes: