If I Knew


Everything changes. And it continues to change. Adapting and acceptance is a useful tool. The key to unlock this tool is trust in Him fully who is fully trustworthy.


 

Insight is as good as foresight in its way. But whereas foresight can help us avoid problems, understanding can help us gain knowledge and wisdom through experienced troubles.

 

Thinking of the insight I have gained through hindsight over a lifetime. If I knew then what I know now and could go back and change anything, would I still be the person I am now? Would I be different? Or better? Or worse? Who would I be in the Lord? Would I be the person the Lord designed according to His purpose?

 

If I knew then what I know now, would I have avoided stepping on more landmines or just different ones? Would my life have been easier, or would I have missed what the Lord wanted to teach me?

 

If I knew then what I know now, would I be a “Mighty Man of Valor” before the Lord? Or would the knowledge have come so easily to me that I wasted it, much like Solomon seems to have done in his later years? Would I have avoided choices knowing led to trouble but not knowing the blessings that would come later because of a seeming failed wrong choice?

 

If I knew then what I know now, would I know God in the way I know Him now? Would I have a better relationship with Him, or more obscure and distant?

 

If I knew what I know now, would I have had to fight so many spiritual battles on earth? Would that have strengthened me? Or made me weaker?

 

The More

The more I understand through hindsight, I wouldn’t want to change anything. Because I have a clearer understanding of The LORD’S love for me through it all. I understand how His love keeps growing more conspicuous as I get closer to Him. I also gained the growing feeling, and then the surety that He had been leading me all along, even when I didn’t recognize His presence. The peace I find in Him significantly results from recognizing all the good and evil He has brought me through. He is forming me according to the irreplicable personality He has given to me. And He works, then polishes that personality to ideally be the single key to fit that unique locked role He has for me in eternity. Much like He does for us on earth, but in a much higher persona.

Much like the block of marble cut and fit at the quarry according to precise dimensions, transported to the building site of Solomon’s temple. Each to fit precisely into the place in the temple prepared beforehand for that particular block. (a) – 1 Kings 6:7

And such is valid for all who are enrobed in the Salvation of our Savior.

 

Dear reader, blessed in the Lord,

Do you know our beloved God and Savior? If so, do you trust Him in how He is developing you into the person He sees you becoming before Him? Do you find solace and comfort in recognizing His working in your life? How it is all to benefit you in glorifying (giving all glory to) Him, both now and in eternity? He prepares a place for each and all of us who are in Christ Jesus our Lord.

“Count it all joy when strange things happen to you, for we know….” James 1:2 paraphrased.

 

In My Father’s House

“In My Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? 3And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and welcome you into My presence, so that you also may be where I am.” (John 14:2-3)

[And if He prepares a place for us where He is in heaven, it stands to reason He is preparing us here on earth for that place.]

 

  • (a) “In building the temple, only blocks dressed at the quarry were used, and no hammer, chisel, or any other iron tool was heard at the temple site while it was being built.” 1 Kings 6:7

Jesus, the Lover of our souls.

4 thoughts on “If I Knew”

  1. This is a great post G.W. I’ve seen a quote that says “be kind to past versions of yourself that didn’t know what you know now.” As you’ve said, hindsight is a wonderful teacher that God uses. Bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Jo! It’s very kind of you. I like that quote! It sounds very close to Psalm 25:7 – “Do not remember the sins of my youth and my rebellious ways; according to your love remember me, for you are merciful, O LORD.”
      God bless you!

      Liked by 1 person

Notes: