Her Children



“But wisdom is proved right by all her children.” [Luke 7:35]

Activities brought about by heaven’s wisdom are proven by their result in God’s goodness.

“The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom…” Proverbs 1:7

Heavenly wisdom takes root to grow in us when the Lord brings to life our spirit.

~

Conversely, one of many children of pride is hatred. Hatred is born of pride. When fully developed, hatred results in renunciation of one’s humanity. As C.S. Lewis said in his treatise, “On Heaven and Hell,” humans were made for heaven, not hell. There (heaven) we become more human than ever we were on earth. However, no one who willfully renounces their humanity for the love of self-pride will enter in there. 

Those who harden their hearts toward God, and as a result ultimately renounce their humanity, become shadows of what they once were but are no longer human, according to Lewis. Through some human events I have witnessed I can clearly see the veracity of his point. It’s frightening to me to think it could have happened to me…But God! I thank Almighty God our Father for Christ Jesus, our (my) Savior!

Does this possibly throw a bit of light on when Jesus said, “But I say to you, love [that is, unselfishly seek the best or higher good for] your enemies and pray for those who persecute you?” [Mark 5:44 AMP].

When Christ’s love is fully developed heavenly wisdom’s children grow in His strength. This can be refined, enhanced, perfected in us but through Christ alone. However, we must be willing. But first, we must be willing to be made willing. In doing this He asks (Asks!) us to give up our “rights” to Him. What safer place can we put them than into His care?

This brings us to the “Narrow Gate.” It’s a hard path to squeeze through. We must shed much human pride for Him to squeeze us through so tight an opening. It sounds like our original birth canal. Sounds like – Yes! That’s it! – it sounds like being Born Again!

John 3:3-4 NIV

3 Jesus replied, “Very truly I tell you, no one can see the kingdom of God unless they are born again.”

4 “How can someone be born when they are old?” Nicodemus asked. “Surely they cannot enter a second time into their mother’s womb to be born!”

_the_chosen__sketch__nicodemus_by_i_am_2his_

Oh, Nicco. Trust God! Has His arm grown short that He is unable to do what He says He will do? Christ does it all!

“My faith has found a resting place not in device or creed:

I trust the Ever living One, His wounds for me shall plead.

I need no other argument I need no other plea;

it is enough that Jesus died and that He died for me.”

(And up from the grave He arose!)

 

May you have a joyful Palm Sunday! The LORD’s Blessings to all! Hallelujah and Amen! 



Cover Image Painting Credit: Vickie Wade — Fine Art America


11 thoughts on “Her Children”

  1. It stands to reason that our own natural children will reflect the character we instilled in them on the most basic level.
    Do they bring us to honor our shame?
    Great post, brother. God bless you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for putting this song in my head, brother!

    Up from the grave he arose;
    with a mighty triumph o’er his foes;
    he arose a victor from the dark domain,
    and he lives forever, with his saints to reign.
    He arose! He arose! Hallelujah! Christ arose!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Teresa. I’m glad I could help, even if in a small way. I gather that pride is the “poison apple” within free will. But it comes with a warning: Do Not eat from that tree! God Bless!

      Yes, LORD, I agree with Teresa’s prayer. As You increase, please diminish pride within me! Amen!

      Liked by 1 person

Notes: